index > Environment

Tibet's new national nature reserves

By Zhu Shan Source:China Tibet News 2018年04月03日 16:29

Of 17 new national nature reserves announced by the State Council, two nature reserves (Mapham Yutso wetland and Mitika wetland) are located in China's Tibet Autonomous Region. Besides, the acreage and functional divisions are promulgated by the Ministry of Environmental Protection.

These new reserves are situated in seven provinces (Heilongjiang, Zhejiang, Jiangxi, Hubei, Sichuan, Shaanx and Gansu) and two autonomous regions (Tibet Autonomous Region and Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region).

Mapham Yutso wetland, located in Purang County of Ngari, southwest China's Tibet Autonomous Region, is bounded on the southwest by India. With a total area of 101,190 hectares, the core zone covers about 67,791 hectares. Mapham Yutso wetland is the home to a variety of wildlife species such as Tibetan antelopes and black-necked cranes.

Mitika wetland is situated in Lhari County, Nagqu of southwest China's Tibet Autonomous Region. Covering about 88,052 hectares, Mitika boasts diverse vegetation. It is a major migration passage and breeding colony for rare birds. Mitika wetland plays a vital role in the conservation of water and soil, and the prevention of seasonal flooding.

According to the related statistics, over the past five years, among 47 nature reserves in China's Tibet are 11 national nature reserve. The region has spent a total of 25.4 billion yuan ($ 4 billion) on eco-compensation. The establishment of Mapham Yutso wetland and Mitika wetland will ensure the regional ecological security and protect biological diversity.

Relevant articles
    Travel News
    Cultural News